Headmaster's Weekly Address


Dear Parents

A week can be a busy, enlivening and memorable period on a regular St Kevin’s calendar, but this last week, in our Centenary Year, has been at times frenetic, pulsing with life and historically significant.

Was it only last Thursday that we gathered as a Eucharistic community to celebrate our Centenary Mass? Our boys were superb, making the Mass so uplifting. Dr Barclay wrote the music for our Centenary Mass and ensured our students were well-rehearsed. Old Collegian, Archbishop Mark Coleridge (SKC 65), as our principal celebrant and homilist, was inspirational. The music and choral contributions were of such a high standard that we must consider releasing a recording. To Mr McGirr and Mrs Power, thanks for the leadership and preparation you undertook in collaboration with your Ministry Team colleagues across the College. Past Headmasters, former Board Chairs, and many others, were so fulsome in their admiration of our boys.

The student celebrations that afternoon were fun as was hoped. Our expedition into the world of crypto-currency with the issuing of ‘Edmunds’ to purchase food and drink was both different and successful. Who would have thought the disco world of my university days would capture the imagination of our Glendalough boys so well? My thanks to all staff involved and particularly Mrs Pauline Ryan and Ms Tammy D’Souza for all their work to bring this student celebration to life.

The SKC Mothers’ celebration running concurrently was also a wonderful event. My thanks to the Mothers’ Association, led by Ms Rachael McGarry, for all the work to enable another celebration of SKC community. By the time I returned to school to prepare for the Board Committee meetings, there was further excitement. The stained glass window, completing the extension and refurbishment of the Chapel of St Kevin, had been installed. The windows will be blessed at Friday morning Mass tomorrow. All are warmly invited to attend Mass, commencing at 8.00am. Over the weekend, the parents of Year 12 gathered at the Noonan home where Mr Jones generously represented the College Leadership Team. Our Rowers headed to the Olympic Course in Sydney across the weekend and have returned with medals! The crew of William Cornwell, Angus Hart, Oscar Ryan and Christopher Johnson, coxed by Oscar Sinni, won the Under 19 Men’s IV. Christopher Johnson also made the final in the Championship Schoolboy Single Sculls race.

The Academic Awards Assembly on Monday was yet another event redolent with tradition and history. Presenting the Academic Awards for 2017 were two former Duces, Dr Joseph Santamaria OAM (SKC 41), our senior Dux and Mr James Maccarrone (SKC 13), the 2018 Victorian Rhodes Scholar. Twenty-five other duces were in the Assembly to honour the Class of 2017 and their academic achievements. Mr Maccarrone spoke eloquently of the importance of good choices and the need to thoughtfully reconsider direction. Executive Director of EREA, Dr Wayne Tinsey, presented the senior student leaders of 2018 with their badges after which our College Captain for 2018, Sam Cato, spoke fluently and thoughtfully of the value of persistent effort, even after initial failure. Refreshments on the Plaza followed.

The open invitation to Past Parents saw a lively crowd gather to mark our Centenary in Boyd Egan Hall on Wednesday evening. Whilst all this ran, classes were taught, sport training occurred, play rehearsals continued as did dancing classes. The Social Justice Partnerships were supported and boys enjoyed their SKC 2018 school days. Omnia pro Deo.

Kind regards

Stephen F Russell

2017 Awards
The Br Purton Accounting Prize
Endowed in memory of the late John Paul Fanning (SKC43)
Hugh Carroll (Year 12)
The Br Chapman Biology Prize
Alexander Phan (Year 12)
The Business Management Prize
Endowed by the late Mr & Mrs Bryan Hoy (SKC40)
Nathan Shannan (Year 12)
The Br Kenny Chemistry Prize
Endowed by the Estate of Professor T O’Donnell (SKC40)
David Wang
The Economics Prize
Donated by St Kevin’s College Old Collegians Association
Benjamin Toohey
The J P Bourke English Expression Prize
Endowed by the Estate of Anastasia Bourke
Dante Di Paolo
Samuel Ellul
Patrick Gigacz
William Harris
Jordan Smith
Vikash Yogaraj
The Br Cusack French Prize
Endowed by the Hunt Family
James Robertson
The Br Tevlin Geography Prize
Donated by the Estate of Dr J G O’Donoghue (SKC24)
Jackson Ward
The Global Politics Prize
Maxwell Thomas
The History: Ancient History Prize
William Vanderslik
The History : Revolutions Prize
Donated by the Scott Family
Lachlan McKay
The Information Technology Software Development Prize
Endowed by the Marburg family
Thomas Bufardeci (Year 12)
The Japanese Prize
Donated by the Morgan family
Akira Abe (Year 12)
The Br Hughes Legal Studies Prize
Endowed by the Naughton family
Thomas Pollock
The Donald Hamilton Rankin Prize for Literature
Endowed by the Estate of Mr D H Rankin
Patrick Gigacz
The Mandarin Prize
Alan Zhang (Year 12)
The Bishop Eric Perkins Prize for Further Mathematics
Endowed by the Estate of Bishop Perkins (SKC32)
Gilbert Battistella
The Mathematical Methods Prize
Giles Feltrin (Year 12)
Albert Shen
Je Min Suh
The Br Marlow Prize for Specialist Mathematics
Endowed by the Estate of Sir Bernard Callinan (SKC29)
Albert Shen
David Wang
The Music Performance Prize
Endowed by the Stevens family
Joshua Park (Year 12)
The Physical Education Prize
Endowed by the Estate of Mrs Tanya Travers
Samuel Crowe (Year 12)
The Physics Prize
Benjamin Byrnes
The Dr Edward Ryan Psychology Studies Prize
Endowed by Dr E L Ryan (SKC38)
Thierry Fong (Year 12)
The Product Design & Technology Prize
Endowed by Mr M Meere on behalf of the Estate of Mr Bernard Cummins
Simon Harris
The Religion & Society Prize
Patrick Daly
The Br Duffy Studio Arts Prize
Endowed by Dr Kynan Eng (SKC91)
Thomas Pollock
The Br Breach Theatre Studies Prize
Endowed by the Past Mothers’ Association
Michael Lew
The Visual Communication Design Prize
Endowed by the Senior Mothers’ Association
Henry Leng
Year 12 Academic Excellence Award
Awarded for achieving an ATAR of 99 or above
Benjamin Byrnes
Dante Di Paolo
Samuel Ellul
Dominic Holden
Jacob Mackenzie
Hugo Mitchell
Andrew Ng
Thomas Pollock
James Robertson
Je Min Suh
Maxwell Thomas
The Victor McMahon Performing Arts Award
Endowed by the late Mr Victor N McMahon (SKC19) for excellence and outstanding  commitment in the Performing Arts
Samuel McCabe
The Ruby Tout Public Speaking Award
Endowed by the late Miss Ruby Tout
Patrick Gigacz
The Nettlefold Champion Sportsman Award
Endowed by the late Mr B W Nettlefold QC
Cameron Hodges
The Frank McDonough Award for Courage & Perseverance
Endowed by the McDonough and Greenham Families. An annual award presented to  the student who has faced the challenges of life and schooling with courage and  perseverance
Harrison Dawe
Edmund Rice Medal
Awarded for the full use of one’s gifts in the academic, cultural and sporting life of the  College, together with an active concern for the disadvantaged
Phillip Borg
Jarrod Nolan
Hugo Stephenson
The Ken Ogilvie Memorial Prize
Awarded at the Headmaster’s discretion to senior students whose contribution to the  quality of life at St Kevin’s College has been substantial
Andre Coten
Dante Di Paolo
Patrick Gigacz
Proxime Accessit
Endowed by Friends of Art
Benjamin Toohey
Dux of the College
Endowed by the Senior Mothers’ Association
Patrick Gigacz
Albert Shen
David Wang
The Alan Shelton (SKC39) Memorial Prize
Endowed by the Shelton Family for outstanding endeavour to develop scholastic and  sporting ability and qualities of leadership within the College
Matthew Lynch

Albert Street Lecture Series

St Kevin's College will value diversity and friendship within the community.
(from the Mission Statement)